The Jealous Curator

Is there a better name than that? I’m jealous that I didn’t come up with that. (har har)

No, seriously. The Jealous Curator is easily among the top of my recent discoveries. I added it through Flipboard, another recent discovery that I will also discuss.

The tagline for The Jealous Curator explains the concept of the blog in a nutshell: “A collection of artwork that inspires & depresses me. I know it’s good when I’m left thinking DAMN I WISH I THOUGHT OF THAT.”

I can relate to this. There is so much work out there that I wish I had done myself. What’s the next best thing? Talk about it, write about it, show it, etc. Maybe criticism and curatorial studies is a good fit for me afterall.

Getting back to the point… the blog provides an excellent go-to centre for keeping in touch with contemporary artists and their practices. Expect me to post links to specific entries, because they are too cool to not share. For instance, this one of Anne Lindberg has me wondering how the weather is in Nebraska right now.

Moving along to FLIPBOARD…

This is a must-have app for iPhones. It’s a great way to get facebook updates, alongside blog and news updates as well. This app introduced me to sites like The Jealous Curator, and allows me to stay current with websites I’m already familiar with, such as Apartment Therapy¬†and Design Sponge. Plus, the simple layout and user-friendly functions are incredibly refreshing. Huzzah!

Leave a Reply

